Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Surprise!

Imagine my surprise to find this interesting little insect on the deck this morning!  I initially thought it was dead, as it way on its back, not moving.  However, when I picked it up in order to get a couple of close up shots (so that I could ID it), I realized that it was moving, albeit very slowly.  A frenzy of shots followed, then a quick thumb through my insect guide to figure out what it was.  

Meet the Boxelder Bug!  This wee creature is part of the "true bug" family, and feeds mainly on boxelder trees, as well as ash and maple.  Since we don't have either of the former trees on our property, I must assume that it was here for the maples.  They are not considered harmful or destructive and, as far as I could determine, they don't bite. They do, however, look for warm places to overwinter, which probably explains why this one was so close to the house - probably looking for some little crack in the siding or something.  

After photographing it from every angle, I tucked it in a flower pot next to the foundation of the house - nature will take its course from here.

I certainly never expected to be photographing an insect from northern NJ on the 28th of November...definitely deserving of my "one photo" for the day.  

Rain has moved in so the rest of the afternoon will be spent inside.  Dinner tonight is going to be a Paleo variation of chili, using sweet potatoes rather than beans - one of our favorite recipes.  Cats are napping and hubs is working on a project in the basement...all is calm in our world for the moment.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.