a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Decisions ...

I'll learn to work the saxophone
I play just what I feel
Drink Scotch whiskey all night long
And die behind the wheel
They got a name for the winners in the world
And I want a name when I lose
They call Alabama the Crimson Tide
Call me Deacon Blues
 

Steely Dan - Deacon Blues


It has been one of those grey wet windy and cold November days.  Not really a day to be outside.  So here we are on Saturday evening, Cathy watching Strictly and I'm listening to music and sorting out my blip....


...oh yes, and deciding what to allow myself as my little luxury.  Strictly I should wait until Advent starts as whisky is a slippery slope best avoided for 11 months of the year.  But each year I allow myself a nice bottle or two, which I then try to share with those (few) friends and family who enjoy the stuff.

I'm not going to learn the saxophone, and I'm definitely not going to drink whisky all night long, a small glass (or two at most) is more than enough.... and drinking and driving is most definitely not on the cards either.  But it is still a great song :-)

So which one?  I've already decided and its sitting in the glass next to me as I type - the Bowmore Tempest seems most appropriate, given the noise of the rain pummelling agains the window as I type this  ... slàinte

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.