Geekbox

I had a meeting in Stoke, today, and with the M6 apparently getting ever busier and the weather not so good, I decided to abandon my planned swim and set off as soon as I'd dropped Dan at the house. 

It was the right decision but as things weren't too bad on the roads and because my satnav took me off the motorway a junction or two early, avoiding some nasty queues, I arrived forty-five minutes early, and gasping for a coffee as I hadn't stopped on the way down.

I drove a mile or so into the town, finding a multi-storey and then, just over the road, this coffee shop come comic emporium, called 'Geekbox'. It was 10:30 and a couple of lads were in there playing a (non-computer) game of some description but it was otherwise empty, so I grabbed a coffee and had a restful twenty minutes or so before getting another drink to take away and driving back to my client.

I've no idea which part of Stoke this was - the address on the website says Newcastle - but should you ever come across it, I recommend it. The staff were friendly and endearingly sleepy, and it was a nice space. Most places I go for coffee seem to be quite crammed but this was quite the reverse. It made me realise how unrelaxing it is to always be sat right next to someone else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.