The second half of life..

By twigs

Grub's up!

There have been quite a few blackbirds around the garden recently.  I heard this one today before I spotted it - such a noise squawking and carrying on, I knew something must be upsetting hit.  Sure enough, I had just heard a light thump on the front window and when I went out to investigate, the youngster on the right was hopping around looking a bit dazed.  Mum - with beak full of breakfast - was sounding her warning and encouraging the youngster to come to her.  At one point it hopped under the house which had the potential to be disastrous as that's where the cats hang out!  Fortunately, they were dotted around the garden enjoying the sunshine so were none the wiser about their visitor.  I can't help but think that the youngster looks more than just a little disheveled - more than I would have expected from his close but light encounter with the window.  His tail actually looks like the feathers have been sliced off.  I do hope this doesn't affect his ability to lean to fly properly.

So much for me getting away to blow the cobwebs out of my mind.......I've been incredibly slothful this weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.