St. Andrew's Day

Dear Diary,

To all my Scottish friends, Happy St. Andrew's day!  This is my church located in Tamworth, New Hampshire...St. Andrew's in the Valley.  This west wall is built of native field stone and the church is nearly 100  years old.  It is such a warm and inviting church and yesterday, for the first day of advent, it was resplendent in its blue altar cloths and candles.

For me, the choice of St. Andrew's was a very personal one.  It is a 40 minute ride for me to attend the services but it is worth the trip. Scotland is very dear to me and I have so many lovely memories in that beautiful country but it is the  people who make a church and this one is very special indeed.

We have a woman priest, this is an Episcopal church, and St. Andrew's is "dog friendly".  A sweet young Labrador, Muffin, attends each Sunday with her owner.  Everything about this church is inclusive and welcoming.   St. Andrew is the patron saint of Scotland and you can find out more about St. Andrew's connection to Scotland here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.