Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Brrrrrr!

Dear Diary,

Since our snow storm we have been in the deep freeze. The temperatures were in the single digits but they are promising a warming trend today. The frigid temps have sprouted icicles and window frost and they are so lovely especially in the early morning sunrise. There is a glow to the light as if the sun is trying to make up for the cold temperatures.

When I retired people thought I was a bit touched to stay in Maine. " Don't you want to be in a warmer climate?" But I love the cold winters here, strangely. The wood stove was crackling away last night and I was as warm as toast. There is nothing quite like a wood fire.

The landscape is reduced to its bare bones and I will venture out to the pond again today. It is suppose to be a grey, overcast day but that has a beauty all its own. Yes, I suppose this climate isn't for everyone but its fine for me.

People don't notice whether it's winter or summer when they're happy.

Anton Chekhov

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.