Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A Pond View

Dear Diary,

I visited the pond late in the day. The skies were slate grey but the temperatures were quite mild considering the deep freeze we've been in. I was able to clear off a rock and sit for a time. I heard a crow or perhaps a raven calling in the distance. In this little kettle hole pond, its cry reverberated off the surrounding hills. It was just me and the crow.

The water was perfectly still and the reflections were lovely. The slushy surface on part of the pond made an entrancing S-curve that led my eye into the distance. I decided to render this image in monochrome as it seemed to call for it. It wasn't until I got the photograph home on the computer that I noticed the solitary black crow flying in the distance. It is a tiny and obscure touch but it made the experience complete for me.

The camera makes you forget you’re there. It’s not like you are hiding but you forget, you are just looking so much. - Annie Leibovitz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.