The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Old Forge (Friday 27th November 2015)

It's gradually dawning on me that I have more stuff than my small cottage can accommodate. This is especially true of the CD collection, housed in my study, where one overloaded metal shelving unit had keeled against another. Clearly, more shelving was needed but there was little space left in the study to place one.

I'm still considering a more long term solution but in the meantime I ordered this small CD oak shelf unit which fits into a discreet corner of the living room, and now houses my Tamla-Motown and Stax/Atlantic collections. I'm now also majorly re-arranging things in the study and this has had a knock-on effect with other rooms so at the moment everything is all over the place.

L.
30.11.2015 (1640 hr)

Blip #1711 (#1961 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #003
Day #2075
LOTD #945 (#1069 including archived blips)

Old Forge series
CDs series
Recent Purchases series


Backblip:
Sunset Fail #2 (Wednesday 28th October 2015) (posted 30.11.2015)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Gladys Knight & The Pips - Any Girl In Love (Knows What I'm Going Through) (recorded at Hitsville, Detroit MI, 28 April 1966)
This comes from the latest addition to my Motown collection, Love & Affection - More Motown Girls, all previously unreleased material, licensed to the Ace label.
This Holland-Dozier-Holland song was written for Kim Weston, but neither her 1964 version or this later Gladys Knight take were released. Gladys Knight delivers a terrific vocal but perhaps it was considered too light and poppy for her. By this time the Supremes, for whom it was perfectly suited, had added their vocals (actually just Diana with the Andantes filling in for the other two) to the Kim Weston backing track and it was released on their I Hear A Symphony album in February 1966.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.