The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Dove Tree

I wasn't feeling at all well today, and the weather had turned vile and squally, so we abandoned our plans to visit Avebury Manor in favour of having an at-home day. Tanya's been on the go for days, rarely spending more than one night in one place, so this suited her too.

In the afternoon Tanya and I braved the rain to go down to St Laurence's church to see the festival of Christmas trees, which are designed and dressed by local community groups, including (this year) the nursery where I work. The festival started in 2005 with 30 trees. This year there were 137, each decorated and lit in its own unique style. I was pleased that our Conservative MP's tree was better dressed than a few years ago, when I slagged it off without realising that he was standing behind me!

A ceilidh band was playing, and mince pies were mincing, so it was all very jolly. I will probably go back during the week for a few more shots of the trees, as it was quite crowded to begin with. I did not get the name of the group who created this tree which I so admired: maybe I can find out next time?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.