SilverImages

By SilverImages

Scuba Do

Another day, another island.  St Maarten, and it rains...a lot.  The cycle group return, soaked, having given up on their trip ashore.  I did it last year and it's a shame because it was a lovely trip ashore.

Me, I've got it covered.  I'm going scuba diving this afternoon so the weather isn't too much of an issue.  I spend the morning reading on deck, under cover of course because there are a few showers during the morning.  By lunch time it's brightened up and it's warm and sunny as I head ashore with my fellow divers.  A dozen of us set off, half of us are complete beginners.  First off is the health questionnaire - I have to answer "yes" to one of the questions and wonder if they'll still allow me on the dive [secretly hoping I won't be allowed perhaps?].  Pass through the introduction and short Q/A test, next stop kitting out.

Fitting out for flippers, mask and jacket then all aboard the boat to head off for the dive.  When we're told we have to jump off the back of the boat into 20-30 feet of open water one of the fellow beginners decides it's not for him.  I'm still dubious, but going along with it. Jackets on, air tanks on and practice breathing through the tube.  15 minutes later we reach the dive area.  We have to jump in and demonstrate [under water] that we can clear the mask, take the mouthpiece out and replace, and also recover a "lost" mouthpiece.  That done, my group of four is down to two as someone has problems with their mask.  Time to dive.

The next half hour passes in a bit of a blur as I paddle around on the bottom in awe of the incredible variety and colour on show.  Neon, Angel and all sorts of other fish.  A mind boggling experience and yes, I managed to remember to breathe, well most of the time anyway. 

There's a sunken "wreck" an old helicopter and a mini-submarine which have been sunk.  There's even a handrail to pull ourselves around it, keeping away from the sharp metal bits.  Marine life has started colonising it, like a reef, and there are colourful fish everywhere.  also sea urchins with long dark spines and camouflaged fish lying on the bottom, twitching occasionally as we swim [not so gracefully] by. 

Team leader checks my air regulator and all too soon it's time to get back to the surface and on board.  I struggle - forgot to mention, I pulled a muscle on entering the water and my left calf has been hurting all the time.  But I make it back on board to find only six of us made the dive.  It's cloudy again and been raining, cooled down quite a bit.  Back to shore to collect my certificate.

I limp back to the ship, dripping in the late afternoon sun, what there is of it.  I can still move my toes and foot so I haven't broken anything, Probably the flipper pulled my foot back at an awkward angle as I jumped in.  But what an experience!  Brilliant, a real high point and a great first experience of scuba.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.