Speeding up

As Christmas approaches the Parliamentary pressures always intensify - I suppose people are trying to clear off unfinished business . That is particularly true in the run up to an election when a great deal of legislation is also in its final stages.

So today I had to get up at 5.00 to drive through for a Health committee meeting starting at 9.30 . I am a substitute member but had to attend because a regular member was away and the business included Stage 2 of the Carers Bill.

Then I had a series of back to back meetings until 5.00 pm when I went into the Chamber to vote and then speak in my own Member's Business Debate about the need for a full public holiday on St Andrews Day.

After that I had a Board meeting of the Scottish Futures Forum and then , after a quick drink , worked on my final suggestions for the Stage 1 Report on the Land Reform Bill which the Rural Affairs Committee will sign off on the morning.

Tomorrow looks just as busy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.