World Aids Day

I was running the broadcasting support company Network Scotland when the first World Aids Day was held in 1988.   We had the contract to supply the National Aids Helpline so I was involved in the arrangements for the day and I remember vividly how important it was in the drive  to ensure better  public understanding of what was, at that time, am impending epidemic.  

Aids remains a killer in many parts of the world ( though treatment has improved enormously in the last twenty years)  and accordingly it is very important to ensure that there is continuing education about the virus.   

Consequently I was pleased to see the World Aids Day flag flying outside St Andrews House on my way into my office this morning, signifying solidarity and action by the Scottish Government as part of the global campaign. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.