Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Tagged

After one of the gloomiest Novembers on record, today was sunny and bright, just right for a breezy walk over Barnack Hills and Holes. As I reached the car this gorgeous red kite flew overhead, its rich colours highlighted by the strong light. I never tire of seeing these magnificent birds, even though they're now commonplace locally. On a recent return trip to Stamford I spotted nineteen birds, and even if some of them were double counted, I estimate that this involved a dozen different individuals. This one has tags on both of its wings but I didn't get an image showing them clearly.


I also took a couple of images of Barnack Mill. The tower mill at Barnack was built around 1797 and was in use up to 1914, after which it became derelict. It was restored between 1959 and 1962 and became a listed building after restoration was completed. The mill still holds the original machinery inside.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.