Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Debate

Another day of not much activity. I did get quite a bit of my new book read on My Kindle app on the iPad - only one flick of a finger needed, unlike my last proper book, which required two hands, and was impossible to read in bed.

Archie's eye is troubling him again. I always know something's up, because he looks up at the ceiling all the time. JR picked up some new eye drops on the way home yesterday, and I've been bathing his eye today as well as drops. So one eyebrow is wet and flat on his forehead, which makes him look a bit manic.

I think, possibly, when he went to the dog sitters last weekend, although they did do the drops, we didn't get the ointment back, but he seemed all right, and because the full course of medicine wasn't completed it didn't knock it on the head. Either that, or it's something more serious...

Today I watched the debate in Parliament about military action in Syria. It made interesting viewing. I watched it all afternoon, because it was only once the PM and the Labour Leader finished that they stopped shouting out and behaving like naughty schoolchildren, and the people speaking were listened to.

Archie gave his opinion of Sir Gerald Kaufman, the Father of the House. He was watching TV, and suddenly started giving his little harrumphs and growls while this chap was speaking. However, I don't think it was that he disagreed with the Honourable Member's views (who did not support the motion) but that Archie didn't like the way he waggled his hand up and down while speaking. Either that or he didn't like his kipper tie.

They vote later tonight. Let's hope they make the right decision. If there is one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.