... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Nigella

Indoor blip: I went to visit the Egyptian geese this afternoon, but was rather taken with the Nigella sp. ("Love in the mist") that we have at home, and reckon I've blipped rather a lot of birds lately so it is good to mix things up a little.
I took this using my tripod so that I could stick to natural light; I bracketed the exposure so I could make HDR composite images, but it didn't add much at this particular angle... It was much more useful when there were windows in the background which would just wash out in single frames.

Alas, there is still no sign of Angel Wing; the other 7 goslings seem pretty cheerful despite the wind and drizzle. Most of them were lying down in a group (not a tight huddle/pile like they used to form) but a couple were marching about in the long grass which was cute. They're starting to get dark patches around their eyes: it is starting as a dark ring just around the edge of their eyes, and it is very much more pronounced in the larger goslings. The biggest ones are also starting to develop the brown spot that adult birds have on the middle of their fronts. The cootlings on Eagle Pond are larger than moorhens now, and the larger of the two has developed a quite obvious pale frontal shield.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.