... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

New Mallardlings on Eagle Pond!

Swooshier in large ("L").

Goosles here

Well, I couldn't decide on my blip (for a change...) but my blip assistant chose this one. I was leaning towards the Goosles (for a change...) because they did some amazing dog-induced huddling today: I've put a picture of them standing in a row by the water's edge (with Mr. and Mrs. bracketing the goslings) on my blipfolio here (in case you missed it above).

This mother mallard has 6 tiny ducklings: she appeared after I'd been there for about half an hour and washed for more than an hour! I think that this must be the ducklings' first outing and she was washing after many days on the nest... The ducklings were terrified: they huddled around her at all times, and got soaked and tossed about by her washing. Here she was drying off after preening and splashing water about. When they swam, they followed her very closely!

p.s. Tomorrow's blip might be rather late as there's a summer staff party after work...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.