... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Migrant Hawker In Flight

Better in large ("L").

Well, this was a good challenge!
What wasn't a good challenge was the man who came over to take issue with me for "taking photographs of his son"!
"I can see you taking photos of me and my 10 year old boy!"
"What!? I'm just photographing the dragonfly! Look!"

"Well, you'll have my boy in the background!"
"Look look : I'm using a wide aperture so the background is totally out of focus!"

"I've not taken pictures with anyone in them, but if I'm making you feel uncomfortably I'll happily take photographs elsewhere"
"Oh. Ok. You carry on!"
[It sounded like an order, but was a lot calmer than his previous statements which was a relief].

Gawd, my first run-in over my stalker-looking lens...

Anyway, I wasn't sure that any of these would come out: autofocus certainly didn't like the look of the flitting dragonfly, but I could coax it into action by manually focusing and then tickling it into taking over. On looking at them on the screen afterwards I didn't hold out much hope, but have been very pleased on viewing the shots on my computer. This is cropped (a lot) and I've increased the contrast (+25 in Lightroom), but otherwise this is "as shot".

I've put two alternatives on blipfolio:
Smooth, dark background
Beautiful background bokeh

It still took quite some effort not to blip the Goosles; they were being adorable (for a change) and I've put up a picture of the family swimming here. Mr. and Mrs. still bracket their goslings between them...

What a beautiful day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.