Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

65

One of a number of birthday celebrations this week.  Lovely to have all three of our children here this evening.   We are simply bursting with pride at all three of them. 

I've been wondering why we celebrate birthdays and reading the history about the roots of the practice in Egypt, but I think that is all tosh.  I think we celebrate birthdays for three reasons:  
1) Life is fragile and it is amazing to manage another year without mishap.  2) The light from the candles lift our spirits (or scares the pants off us, in this case).  
3) It's a brilliant excuse to make and eat cake. The Prof thinks it's sad I make my own cake and asks if he should buy one - but no, most of the joy is in the baking!   

Oh, and the VIP was here too - how did I forget him?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.