The Gift of Good Light

It was my birthday, and I have to admit the weather wasn't cooperating too well. It was pouring down rain pretty much all day long, with just one convenient break: it let up for about a half-hour around the time I had to go downtown for an afternoon meeting. (Yes, I was working on my birthday; I often do, especially if I have meetings; which I did.)

I was on campus for that short period of time, and upon the break in the weather, it seemed that every living creature came outside to have a look. Suddenly, students appeared everywhere as though by magic; bedraggled squirrels dug for nuts with muddy paws; traffic picked up on College Ave. I took a few pictures: water droplets, everywhere.

Later, when I came out of my meeting, it was raining again. I heaved a sigh. I had errands to run: a check to cash (birthday loot!), a few things to pick up at the dollar store. And my last stop was C.C. Pepper's at the North Atherton WalMart plaza, as part of my mission was to bring us home a special birthday treat of Philly cheesesteaks.

Of note: there used to be SEVERAL C.C. Peppers in this town, but now there is only one. I think of it as the Last of the Mohicans. I am grateful for it. I pray it never closes, as it's the only place I know locally to get a decent cheesesteak!

And as I was standing waiting for my order, I saw the light in the sky begin to change. Suddenly, the air was full of pink and yellow and even a bit of purple light. The parking lot was wet and shiny, and it reflected the light, made the colors even more pervasive.

I walked out into that magnificent light like a child, in wonder. How could such a simple thing as good light turn a WalMart parking lot into a tiny slice of paradise? I wanted pictures, but the locale just wasn't conducive. If I blipped a WalMart parking lot, would anybody look?

I tried to frame a shot in my mind; and failed. So I got in the car and drove away, heading home. The skies were overcast and dark again. It drizzled. Darn it, I had missed the only good light of the day! I admit I gnashed my teeth, but only just a little.

But then, as I left town and drove along route 550, I saw that the amazing sky colors were only now making their way west. Suddenly, where there was darkness before, there were pink clouds rising! And purple! And mist! (Oh, you all KNOW how I feel about mist!)

I was afraid I would miss it this time too. So I acted quickly; I pulled the car over into the parking lot at Way Fruit Farm, jumped out, walked through the mud, and pointed my camera at the hills. And I stood there for two and a half minutes, watching the sky change, snapping away, feeling absolutely DELIGHTED!

For on a day when it rained cats and dogs, and I had almost given up any hope of being able to get any decent outdoor photos, this was one of the last of my birthday gifts: the gift of good light.

I have used this song before, but this is MY day, and so I will do what I want! (Ha!) And I just know I'll use it again because I love it so. Here's Yo-Yo Ma and Alison Krauss, with Simple Gifts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.