Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Another Christmas cake day

Having managed to make two on Wednesday the third is now in the oven. Why three? Petronela doesn't eat fruit cake so there's no point in making one for Christmas day, so I'll be taking one to the pre-Christmas 'festive' meeting of our Writers Club and one to each of two visits to friends on Boxing Day and a couple of days after that.
While mixing the cake I saw, from the kitchen window, a rainbow in an extraordinary early morning sky. Dropped wooden spoon and picked up the camera to catch the extra. The dullest November ever I heard on the radio this morning. For us, despite generally dreadful weather it's been the most rainbowed month I remember, and it's continuing into December.
Next week I'll be doing what I really enjoy about making Christmas cakes, decorating them to hopefully put them in JazzyB's Christmas cake challenge. Just time to get a couple of shots of brandy in them and find a big chunk of proper, unadulterated, Wensleydale cheese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.