Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Local history.......

......the weather's nothing to write home about so I'm immersing myself in a bit of local history today. Someone on a local facebook page posted a link to the Library of Congress online catalogue where I found that-up-there, it's a German map of potential bombing targets in Newcastle dating from 1941. The big area outlined in red was in fact bombed that very same year......the site is now mainly taken up with Northumbria Uni's City Campus East......often blipped in the days when I was still gainfully employed, in fact here's one I took when I was just back from a fieldtrip to Berlin. One of our German hosts on that trip had a (defused!) incendiary dropped by British bombers that he'd found in his roofspace when he was doing renovations......war is truly pointless, so many innocent people affected by something they didn't sign up to..........

But hey, on a lighter note, I'm cat-sitting Tia-two-doors-up for a week from tomorrow again, hopefully she'll remember me from last time;-)

Have a great weekend when it comes blipmates!!!

EDIT.....I've signed up for BlipFuture......nothing ventured, nothing gained! (useful write-up here......worth a read!!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.