Bidford-on-Avon Bridge Repair

You may have heard or seen of the huge amount of damage caused by a tractor to the bridge at Bidford-on-Avon earlier this year, which caused the bridge to be closed for months, and a very long detour for some drivers. 
Well, at the cost of some hundreds of thousands of pounds, the bridge was repaired and opened again a couple of weeks ago. You can see some of the repairs in this photo - the lighter-coloured brickwork.
I witnessed today what I thought was going to be another lot of damage to the bridge, when a large lorry attempted to cross the bridge and then realised that he couldn't get through. 
I was in the small car park at the side, and a chap leaped from his van (it should have been a white horse) and promptly directed the driver in what was about a twenty-point turn, reversing into the little car park in order to return from whence he came. I don't know what would have happened if the knight in shining white van hadn't been there to help. I took a picture through my windscreen using my phone, of the driver shunting to turn around (my extra) - you can see how close to the wall he was. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.