Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Hey, Boss!

"Hellooooooo!!!  I just had my lunch now I need a drink. 
Where's the water?"

I don't think it's a coincidence that two days after I put my bird feeder back up in my yard that this little White-crowned Sparrow returned after a three week hiatus.  In fact, I hadn't seen any  birds, other than a couple of hummers, some lazy, ol' doves and and an occasional woodpecker on the hummingbird feeder.

Yesterday morning, though, the yard was buzzing.  Beth, my housekeeper, even stopped to watch for a minute before she continued cleaning.

The finches were finally back, thrashing away in the water dishes, making both of us laugh.  A Verdin was handing upside down looking for nectar as two hummers fought for the right to join her. On the ground, there were a couple of Curve-billed Thrashers poking around for seeds that fell from the feeder.  The darn Gila woodpecker made an appearance, too, startling everyone for a moment.

They aren't exotic, rare or especially colorful birds but they are what makes my desert backyard hum. They are mostly playful, little ones who are fun to watch.   I think they are all  beautiful (especially this White-crowned Sparrow) because they are mine.  ♥

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.