Gale

Taking it easy on my drive up north to Aberdeen so I stopped for the night at the Tebay Westmorland Hotel.

As I post this the wind is howling past my room. In the bar it sounded like the roof was going to come off. That is until an office Christmas Party crowd arrived, they drowned out any sound from the wind. That was even before they had had dinner.

With luck the wind will have dropped by tomorrow morning, though the forecast is not hopeful in that regard. As I write the office party disco should be going full swing, but they are far away from my room, so I have only the wind to listen to.

When I arrived the wind was so strong I could barely get the car door open, and had to hold down the boot lid so that the hinges were not damaged. It is some years since I have known a wind like this. On the way down I saw a couple of overturned trucks, hope they are taking shelter this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.