If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Zwartbles

When I was young you never saw a black sheep.  I was told it was because it was only possible to make one colour of wool from the fleece - black.  Then I started visiting Wales, what is it with the Welsh and black animals?  Black cattle breeds black sheep breed!

Recently I have been noticing more and more of these Zwatbles mainly at agricultural shows not in the fields.  Today on my way to the tip Recycling Centre I spotted a small flock in a field.  So on the way back I stopped pushed my way through the roadside vegetation and got a shot.

Zwarbles are a breed originally from north east Holland and have been introduced because of their breed properties.  Which are prolificacy, lamb growth, exceptional maternal qualities and easy of keeping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.