The Mummers at Stroud Goodwill Evening

I went to the Subscription Rooms tonight where the paper lantern procession started soon after 6pm to formally begin the Goodwill Evening in Stroud town centre.  The event happens each year at the beginning of December and once again lots of people gathered together to partake of various offerings of both food and drink, as well as sharing convivial bonhomie.

I followed the procession in fits and starts as I bumped into friends around the various roads.  These Mummers lead the procession and soon after they returned to the Subscription Rooms they did a final dance and then grouped together to g=catch their breath.

I have added some 'Extra photos' including the paper Angel who featured prominently in the procession being very tall and elegant, as well as the modern version of the funfair where the boys and girls managed to meet and to be excited by the intense whirling rotation. Finally I looked into the window of the Stroud Valleys Artspace gallery converted into a shop window.

I'm off to a dreamwork session tomorrow so need my beauty sleep and a remembered dream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.