Light, tunnel, end of

Today was heading for being my second day in four years without a blip. Too much work, too tired, too uninspired... When I finally sat down to eat, around 9.30, I started to look at blips on my phone and found out what is going on. Us? Take blip back? Get our name back? Ditch the Polaroid branding? You bet! What dedicated work by those four, to put all this together. Thanks, people!

I left my plate on the table (not that unusual, I admit), grabbed the camera, got on my bike, headed for the nearest tunnel and spent a happy 20 minutes watching what came at me. I remembered that I like taking pictures at night. I like finding an image that fits with my thoughts. I like getting lost in photography. And I like this community.

I've been here almost four years. I decided to pay my optional annual £25 after my first few months. When it was up for renewal I paid another £25. A year later I bought a 'life' membership for £75. And nothing since. That's not much, is it? The price of one cup of coffee a month over four years. At the very least I shouldn't begrudge putting in what blip's been worth to me in addition to that. Plus a bit to represent hope for the future.

And now I must get back to that short-deadline design work I'm doing - putting together a share offer for a very small not-for-profit community group. Where each shareholder has one vote regardless of how many shares they buy. Where there will be no dividends. Yes, that is what I've been doing. The zeitgeist. How we wrest our lives back from the corporates. How we shed cynicism. It's got to be worth trying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.