Illuminations

I happened to emerge from the underground into the Norwegian Christmas tree light-switching-on ceremony in Trafalgar Square. Since the lights weren't yet on, the Canada House 'revitalization project' stole the show.

The extended Canada House includes the old Sun Life insurance building where I once had a monumentally tedious temp job reconciling bank statements and filing thousands of insurance polices that had been dumped loose in a room when Sun Life took over another insurer. They spilled into the corridor each time I opened the door. I endured it for four weeks because I was saving up to travel then they offered me a permanent job as I'd lasted longer than any of their permanent staff in that role.

I went travelling.

When I came past the illuminated tree later, Canada House was still stealing the show.

In between times I went with my mum to a fantastic production of La Bohème at the Coliseum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.