The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Canggu

I needed a change of scenery and had heard about a quiet beach town called Canggu (pronounced 'changoo'). I checked out of my guesthouse and used Uber (they have it here!) as it was 1.5 hours away. It's about 15 minutes north of Seminyak and 25 minutes north of Kuta (the party area). There are loads of food options and it's nice being by the sea.

I found a nice hotel that's out of my price range but decided I needed a bit of luxury. I didn't book online and just turned up hoping to get a better price given that I would be staying for five nights. The lowest price they could offer me was significantly more than on Agoda and for an inferior room too! I was forced to book through Agoda (including their commission) rather than direct with the staff sat in front of me. Madness!

The room was amazing. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, the A/C was blissful (it really is hot here at the moment), there's a small kitchen area and a porch which leads directly to the small swimming pool. Breaking the budget is worth it sometimes!

The area is very quiet and there are rice fields everywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.