At the end of the day

I was startled this morning to get an email and also see a blip from Blip Central Blipfuture. I read some, not all, enough to know who is involved and to have a reasonable idea as to what is planned. Since then my day has been fully preoccupying.

First, I spent a good couple of hours working in iPhoto to create a book. The book is a collection of bird photos which I blipped up until the end of 2014, but only those photos I took at Snells Beach. Why so restricted? Because my mother-in-law stays in Snells, and has been asking to see my bird photos and not just on the computer. So this will be my Christmas present to her.

Then S and I met our daughters at a local garden centre for a slightly late lunch. I was able to walk with the aid of a single crutch, and I managed a normal cafe meal of mushrooms focaccia and bacon, although l did leave most of the bacon. Felt pleased with myself.

Later I drove for the first time since before the op. (It was my left leg they took the bit of bone from). Feeling more and more able to do things for myself, which is how I like it. S has been so helpful in getting me to this point.

After another dinner on the deck, I watched the sun go down, and I took a number of photos. This was the second one, and I think by far the best.

I chose the title because the photo was taken at the end of the day. Also because we have enjoyed a very long day with Blipfoto, some of us paying an annual membership fee of GBP25.00. That day is now over.

If there are as many blippers as is suggested, there is potentially a largish sum if everyone paid some sort of membership fee. Call it buying one or more shares; whatever. This photo expresses my hope that at the end of the first (or perhaps second) "day" of blipfoto, there is still light and hope for the future. We are a group worth saving, if we can.

And at the end of the day, if we can't do it, we can at least say we tried.

I have returned because I realised that I forgot to note that I have added an extra photo today. When we were at the garden centre I saw a number of corrugated iron panels, painted with bright colours, and attached to them a stylised NZ bird. This one is a kereru. A fellow blipper likes corrugated iron, and this was taken with her in mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.