Waitukei by Lyonel Grant (2001)

Waitukei is a sculpture by Rotorua artist and master carver Lyonel Grant, which is in the Government Gardens in Rotorua, was unveiled in 2001. Created to mark the new millennium, it took the sculptor two years of crafting in bronze. Grant was inspired by the people of the area, the melding of Maori and Pakeha cultures.

I saw this sculpture as I took a run through the Government Gardens. I was heading back to the hotel, after looking for something good in the way of birds, scenery, or sunrise. Too much cloud for the last, and I was more taken with this image than anything else.

Spent the day on the interview part of the review process. Back to the hotel for a wind down, debrief and a glass of ale. Posting this before S and I have dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.