Every picture tells a...

By Eptas

A dog...

...in a basket in Old Amsterdam.

Our last day in Amsterdam and we survived without being mown down by any cyclists.  We ended our final evening with a classy, traditional Dutch meal of a bag of chips/fries/frites.  Mrs E was to blame for us missing out on our planned romantic curry.  We were in a small but very lively bar at the top of Chinatown on Zeedjik and just about to leave when Staying Alive by the Bee Gees came on the sound and video system.  That was it!  Any notions of a romantic curry bit the dust and I was forced to stay there and drink a few more beers whilst being buffeted by others dancing in the bar.  Fortunately no beer was spilled and I did manage to tap my feet a few times.  By the time we left we'd gone beyond the point when a large meal was appropriate (I'm sure you know what I mean) so we opted for a smaller (cheaper) one instead.  The chips were excellent but I'm afraid the curry sauce wasn't much cop.  The lesson here then is not to let Mrs E get carried away by drinks or music in a bar.  Fat chance there then!

I do hope that you've enjoyed my 3 photo/blips from Amsterdam.  Tomorrow I shall be uploading some more photos to my Blipfolio.  Needless to say that unlike Mrs E, I shall not be including any taken in the Red Light District.  I wondered where she kept sneaking out to late at night!

Thoughts of an optimistic pessimist:
I'm off to collect Bruce from his holiday staying with our friends John and Liz who assure me that he's been very well behaved. (Hoping for the best.)
I bet they're only being polite and the little bugger has dug up all of their plants and been diving for the fish in their pond! (Expecting the worst.)

Homer J Simpson's words of wisdom:"Ah, good ol' trustworthy beer. My love for you will never die."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.