witchpics

By witchcreations

Blip Future - why we won't turn our backs

So the latest news is that Polaroid Blipfoto is on the financial rocks again, and will soon be terminated... However a team of blip members has come together to launch blip future  a not for profit, community run company, with a crowd funding campaign to save Blipfoto.   I said last time that I would be willing to chip in to save Blip, so I've now pledged my investment...   I know this is causing controversy with some blip members, so here's my reasoning:

I use my journal to experiment with photography, record my projects, and more recently to blog about my experience becoming 'mummy' to my own little witch.  I write for myself, my family and friends, and any other interested people scattered around the world.  I have made friends and maintained relationships because of blip... The time,  energy,  stamps, envelopes and photo printing costs required to do this without the blipfoto platform would far exceed any investment I make now... 

I've invested what I can afford to lose.

In life you tend to regret the missed opportunities and the things that you didn't do or try, rather than the things that you did do...   

I also trust the intentions of the founders of blipfuture and I think they are approaching this in a professional and considered manner...  

I really hope the crowd funding succeeds and I would also urge some of my non blipper friends,  who enjoy reading my journal  to consider pledging a little amount as well.

I also wanted to say thanks to the other blippers who have designed programmes to back up our  journals,  I've just secured all five years using blip rip  so I now know my precious memories are safe for my daughter to share in years to come

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.