The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Monkeys, temples and abandoned planes

I read about a few nice locations down in South Kuta, the area below the airport and away from the busy tourism of central Kuta. My first stop was an abandoned plane by the side of the main road next to a Dunkin' Donuts store. It was fenced off but there was a gap so I went in and walked underneath it which was a bit weird. I'm not really sure why it's there.

Next was another old aircraft but this time it was out in the middle of nowhere. This time the fencing was secure and there seemed to be a security guard but the people who owned the land above it had set up a stall to charge any tourists that might have hunted down this spot. I paid 5,000 Rp (25p) and took lots of photos from above (see the extra photo).

I explored some of the coast line, including some interesting cliffs, and then went to Uluwatu Temple, one of the most popular temples in Bali. As I pulled in to the parking area, I was surrounded by tour buses. At the entrance to the temple there were two monkeys waiting to be fed. The temple itself seems to mostly be a path and wall along the impressive cliffs. It was another extremely hot day and I was pretty dehydrated by this point. I walked around but didn't stick around for too long.

My next stop was meant to be a picturesque beach but the road was closed meaning I'd have to go a very long way around so I decided to just head back as it was already after 5pm. The drive back to Canggu took exactly an hour, mostly due to traffic caused by large cars on the narrow roads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.