Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Cat in the Sack

Although we haven't yet put up our tree, I've unpacked some of my favorite Christmas decorations to put around the house. My most cherished decorations are those that have some special memory attached and this one is no exception.  My parents gave me this lovely little ceramic ornament many years ago when I had my second cat, Chica.  She was similar in color to Charlie, only no tabby markings.  Anyway, it has survived many moves and holidays over the years with nary a chip or crack...and I always smile when I unwrap it each year.

I took my new light box out on the deck and put the black background in it, using sunlight diffused through the box.  I did some tweaking in LR and PS to even out the background and adjust the levels a bit.  I think this would qualify for "fartnarkling" - a wonderful new word I learnt from Newcastle Downunder!  And if not fartnarkling, then surely faffing...  I posted another shot on my Facebook Photography Page if you'd care to have a look.  

Charlie continues to stay the course.  He spent much of last night sleeping tucked up against my neck, which is out of character, but not entirely unwelcome on a cold December night when one's hubs is away.  Phoebe, who usually sleeps somewhere in the middle of the bed was tolerant of him being in her space.  

I had a nice long chat with my parents this morning - they are enjoying lovely weather in Arizona at the moment.  Speaking of weather - it was a sunny day here which I've somehow managed to completely waste.  Too much time playing with my new toy...

First thing this morning, there were waxwings and robins perched around our deck, all waiting for a crack at the water.  One of the best things I've ever purchased is that heated bird-bath as it gives the birds ample drinking water on cold days like this.  And it provides me with endless entertainment. 

Lots of chatter and opinions on the Blipfuture plan; I remain staunchly in support of it.  I like this community very much and would hate to see it fold up.  If you haven't had a chance to read up on the plans, please check out the links I posted yesterday and join the Friends of Blipfoto FB group.  

Cheers, people...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.