*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

339/365: A few of the versions

I've got my Sheffield carols book out today, ready to start practicing them on the piano. There is a tradition of singing in pubs at Christmas time in South Yorkshire which is pretty unique in England, not only that we have our own carols and versions of well known carols. The best example being While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks. My Worrall carol book has 15 versions alone - and that's by no means all of them! Different pubs around Sheffield sing their own versions and Kate Rusby usually covers one or two of them on her Christmas albums... in fact I think there's one on her new album which has just come out. Can't wait to get it :)

My favourite versions are Cranbrook (which is sung to the tune more famously known as On Ilkla Moor baht 'at), Sweet Christmas Bells and Liverpool.

I love our local carols... and I love pubs, beer, banter and singing. Long may the tradition continue. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.