Last Blip?

The day began full of promise, leading me to anticipate a handsome sunset. Alas that was not to be and so things end on a sombre note and "Hobbs's Run" ends with them, I am afraid.  At least there are some traces of lovely wire ... to remember me by.

I have been very much consumed by urgent personal matters of late which had encouraged me to shelve Blip among other things. I had hoped that the prolonged absence might spur me on to fresh creativity once I'd returned but as I faced the actual resumption of my journal, I understood that it simply wasn't going to happen. It appears that (after 1624 entries) I have come to a natural and seemingly inevitable end.

I now realise that the sorts of statements I want to make in photo imaging can't be summoned by regular 24 hourly cue. They must arise from circumstances and opportunities when I can feel suitably  motivated ... when I feel at liberty to take the time and trouble "to do it properly". Accordingly I am going back to publishing work when subjects naturally inspire me ... in gallery form and principally on Flickr .

I hate to say it but the future of Blipfoto looks a little doubtful. I have given the recent "Blip Central" announcement a lot of thought, read a lot of links and absorbed a great many comments. While I sincerely hope that Blip survives and prospers for all of your sakes, I am not optimistic for a good many reasons. In any event I shall follow events with considerable interest.

The part I value most about Blipfoto are the friendships I have forged.  I shall miss the almost daily contact with so many of you .. very much. I certainly desire that my association with some particularly special people has not really ended.

If any of you find your way to the Blue Mountains of New South Wales I'd very much love to see you and I mean that most sincerely. Expect me to personally farewell the journals of my best mates in the days that will follow. In any event I wish you all a wonderful future in Photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.