Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

A Surprise Ruby Wedding Party

Jan is a Police Community Support Officer who won The Community Support Officer of The Year Award. She always goes the extra mile and it was no surprise that she booked the Manor Suite at The Celtic Manor Hotel , Newport (It recently housed the NATO talks) as a surprise party for her husband. The waiting list for it is long.

The band (three of whom I used to work with) say she booked them two and a half years ago, and she asked me to do the photographs about that time too! It was a surprise for her husband, Mike, who was shocked as he thought they were having a quiet meal and staying the night there. Everyone had a good time, and some of the prizes in the draw she organised were amazing, like a weekend stay at The Celtic Manor, a spa treatment there, 10 cash prizes, etc., and presents for all the children there. Besides the band called 'Under The Covers' she also had a Jack Sparrow look-alike who was very good.

I got there early and set up my video camera at the entrance I was told they would arrive, only for them to come in another way! I salvaged the situation but missed a few seconds before I could shift my gear.

Jan was not without her problems. Her elderly dad had a medical emergency where ambulance crew attended and he was taken to hospital. I'm told he is now okay. 

I'm now spending hours sorting out the video and photographs for her.

In the meantime, I've become a grandad for the second time. My grandson, Isaac, was born on 2 December in Malaysia. The extra was taken when he got home today (4th). My son is working in the UK at the moment and will be going out in January 2016 to bring them here for 6 months. He hasn't seen his wife or daughter, Isabella, since about May; it must be hard for them. I'm looking forward to the end of January and seeing my grandchildren for the first time. It'll be a nice surprise for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.