HelenJG

By HelenJG

Twilight Shackleton Run

The Shackleton Preservation Trust have recently replaced the brakes on WR963 which meant they could perform a static run up. It sounded like an interesting opportunity and so we signed up and went along.

It's the first time I'd done anything like this so I wasn't sure what to expect. It did occur to me as we were half way there that I should have packed a tripod, on arrival I realised that I only had an 8GB card with me too. Doh! We also had the joys of strong winds thanks to storm Desmond. So, it was a case of improvising and making the most of the opportunity. This is about the best shot I managed, taken balancing my camera on a picnic table! The patterns in the prop blur are thanks to her twin contra-rotating props on each engine. You can see the props better on the shot in extras when someone's flash went off during my exposure. The other one is of the Nimrod they also ran up on the night, jet engines sound good, but don't make for such interesting shots. 

It was a fun evening, I learnt a lot and next time I'll be more organised! If you'd like to know more about the plane they have a website here.

Hope you had a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.