Birds Nest In The Geraniums

For a couple of weeks I've been keeping my eye on a pair of tiny honey eater birds making a nest in my geraniums on the rooftop garden.

They always seem to be there and I've been reluctant to disturb them in case they abandon the nest.

Yesterday I managed to peep into the nest when I saw them both leave and two beautiful tiny eggs were in there! I was so excited, planning where to set up the tripod so I could record the action as it was right near my desk!!

Early this morning I went for another peep when I couldn't see the mother on the nest and both eggs were smashed on the ground! I almost cried!!

Just as the dog licked up the bits of egg a huge raven flew through and sat on the end wall. Toto went wild and it just sat there and dared him to try something!! :(

I think they must have invaded the nest, I've seen them in the Ibis nests too at the lake grrrrr!!

This is what's left.....and the little honeyeaters have gone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.