Camouflage

I saw a dragonfly from my kitchen window and took my camera out hoping for a shot. However, it was far too active flying round trees and bushes. It was fascinating to watch. The first time I saw a picture of a helicopter I immediately thought of a dragonfly. (Young folks may have noticed the resemblance the other way round). But as it flew towards me it looked just like a biplane, with its two pairs of wings.

Suddenly it flew at a broom bush and disappeared. I hurried to the spot, but couldn’t see it. I was sure it should be there somewhere. I looked and looked and all at once, like seeing a pattern emerging from an array of random dots, I saw it. What a wonderful disguise.

Note the yellow patches near the ends of the wings.

I have seen only one in my garden before, but it was a different colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.