Egrets

As part of Chris's 25th birthday celebrations, he and I had a day out to Rutland Water. I lent him my 300mm lens, and made do with the 70-200mm and a 1.4x converter, which wasn't the best choice given that the birds were mostly quite distant. We saw about 60 different species, including a very distant Slavonian Grebe in winter plumage (underwhelming!) and two magnificent Great White Egrets (see extra), a new species for me though Chris had seen them before in Asia.

Although it's always interesting to see rarities, I think my favourite birds were this Little Egret, which we watched delicately and sytematically stirring up the mud with its feet to flush out any lurking fish, and the wet meadow area which had four feeding Curlew, and an unexpected Stonechat.

I was excited to see the news about Blipfuture, and would like to make a pledge to support the future of this site, but so far I've been unable to complete my registration. The promised email has never arrived  - anyone else had difficulties or found a solution? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.