Friday Foto

By drmackem

Jedi Torch Relay

Before I say anything about todays blip, I loved the official torch relay, those running with the torch, the crowds, the engagement with communities.

but....
I was shocked to find out that it wasn't run around the route, but bussed from town to town. I was sorry that we saw more of the sponsors buses than of the relay runners. I agreed with Simon Armitage's sentiment in his article in the guardian that it didn't feel authentic when the dancing girls on top of one of the sponsors buses shouted "we love you Ilkley" - when we hadn't really met yet.

so....
when I heard that there was an unofficial Olympic relay, running the whole route through the towns of the official one, but between them too, through the night 24/7. That it was catching up with the original one having started later. That it was open to anyone so long as they could run a leg and the required pace. That the whole thing was driven by social networking.

.....I had to run a leg
The local running group took the leg from Skipton, through Ilkley and on to Menston today. I ran 10miles, other joined for 2miles, the junior harriers expended more energy and excitement in their 1mile than the rest of us combined.

the baton looked like a light sabre was a light sabre
you've just got to love that.

So this is my friend Phil who joined us because he loved the idea so much. Phil is a lovely guy, intelligent, principled, kind and he loves his beer= what's not to like about him. When we go running he tells me which birds I can hear but not see, about the flowers and fauna, the history of the area - he's a walking wiki about things I am ignorant of. (he also once was a support act when Kate Rusby played - so I'm also a little jealous of him)He was so excited to carry the torch and ran with the passion and purpose of a true Jedi Knight. (though John behind looks like he's emerging from the dark side of the force to nobble him- nice chap too really).

Football tonight - sorry Italy didn't win, but Spain were irrepressible. Aaaah the beautiful game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.