Friday Foto

By drmackem

Digitalis

Funny how when you have more time on your hands, you can struggle to find time to blip. Perhaps pressure can be part of the creative spark.

So this was a lazy amble across the road and the first time I've used my camera's "macro" function. I didn't see the hairy things in real life, I didn't see much, I was too caught up with the camera menu's and midges.

Close up this looks a bit sinister - and to be honest it is, digitalis species is pretty poisonous, flowers, stems, leaves are all nasty if you chew on them, potentially fatal. Digoxin which is a prescription drug still in regular use for fast heart arthymias principally - it slows the heart down- too much and well it slows the heart down too much. I'm still after years with a prescribing license cautious prescribing it and I've never been tempted to chew on the plants when I see them.

So that's what you get when I'm offf work for a day - a mini tutorial in pharmacology, I need to unwind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.