Dancing, masks and smiles

So I did go back for the filming of The Last Waltz down in Granton. By the time I arrived, a little after 1pm, they had already been filming for half an hour or so, not to mention the time for the cast to fix hair and make-up and get into costume and for the crew to finish dressing the set and arrange the lights. When I left at 6pm to catch my bus home they were still hard at work, with the director estimating another hour or so to get it done. So a long day for everyone! With several Italians in the cast and crew I guess they will have tried to finish in time to see the football, although given what happened in Kiev they probably would rather not have bothered! The filming was great fun. As well as taking pictures, I was also a bit of a third or fourth assistant - another pair of eyes to look out for things, like the girl who had kept her glasses on, or the coincidence that had all the white dresses at one end of the room and all the red ones at the other. In another context that might have been deliberate, but it wasn't and so the director was pleased to be told so he could shuffle the couples to appear a bit more random. Of course there's a whole debate about what is random, and the way we sometimes won't accept true randomness as really random! Anyway, with everyone in costume and with the film lights there were lots of opportunities for pictures. I almost posted another one of C, leading lady in the film, as she looked stunning in her dress today, but as I blipped her yesterday in the end I went with this one that sums up the day for me - dancing, masks and smiles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.