JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

Show Me The #TurnerPrize Winners

I got a last minute invite to the Turner Prize 2015 announcement jamboree at Tramway in Glasgow tonight.
I took this just before the party (screened live on Channel 4) started.
It shows two friends; Lynne Mackenzie (curator of the George Wyllie Foundation and part-time PR for Glasgow Museums) and BBC Scotland arts correspondent, Pauline McLean.
Pauline was about to go on air to report on the Prize.
I was hanging around because I still feel a bit shy in among the arty crowd. I was happy to be given a job of making sure no one walked into the shot when Pauline was live to camera.
It was an interesting if strange evening.
Art always divides people.
At the time the exhibition opened back in October, I wrote a review in The Herald saying I thought Assemble, a collective of young artists and designers, were clear winners.
It turned out that they did win! They looked stunned but they were the peoples' choice.
I don't think it was a popular view among the cognoscenti going by the conversations I had afterwards.
Questions were asked about it being art at all and it being a watershed moment for the Turner Prize.
I am not schooled in art theory and art history (tho I've had an intensive masterclass over the last 10 years) so have moments when I question myself and my judgement.
But at the end of the day, you just have to go with your gut feeling.
Art either grabs you by the short and curlies or it doesn't. Assemble did this for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.