Taking Notes at #TurnerPrize

I was on the Janice Forsyth Show with poet, Rachel McCrum, talking about the Turner Prize and the impact it's had on Glasgow.
During the course of the chat, Janice mentioned Kim Gordon (visual artist/ex-Sonic Youth bassist and much beloved of my muso-journo colleagues it seems) and her presentation speech.
It wasn't the best speech. She got the name of winners, Assemble, wrong twice (calling them Assembly) and jumped a year ahead to 2016. Well, she's a cultural icon... and her book, Girl in a Band, sounds great.
Janice mentioned that she'd spotted that Kim Gordon had put a picture of her speech on Instagram and expressed surprise that she (ie Ms Gordon) had a speech written at all.
I was tidying my bag out last night and laughed when I saw my own handwritten notes for the JF Show.
So here they are in a kind of Turner-Gordon still life, alongside the menu and my bowl of fruit...
You can listen to the show here. It's just at the start of the programme.
It's worth tuning in just to hear Rachel (currently BBC Scotland's Poet in Residence) present a brand-new poem about the Turner Prize.
As a nod to artist Janice Kerbel's Turner 'opera', Doug, it's got a big long name which I can't remember off top-of-head but there's an accident-prone psychic from Liverpool in the mix!!

The Turner Prize is at Tramway in Glasgow until 17th January and it's free!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.