Tiny Tuesday - Week 28

Isopogon - 4 ways.

Honestly, I had such a hard time choosing the main image today, so much so that I decided to add the others as extras.  I'm happy to be able to show the various stages of this fascinating native plant.

When the fires swept through Wombat Hollow in 2002 the Isopogon suffered greatly and I thought they had been wiped out forever.  However it was interesting to see about 12 months after the fire the tiniest plants emerging.  They were without a doubt the plant that took the longest to recover and are now just as robust as ever.  The image I've chosen is a macro image of the flower head once it has passed its best.  The others show three stages of flowering and I find them all quite fascinating.

There is something about native flowers in Australia.  Many of them have long flowering periods.  For instance the Waratah starts its process way back in March when you first see the tiny buds appearing.  Its only in late October that they are at their stunning best.  Even after the flower dies back the seed pods are an event in themselves.  I'm wondering which image you would have selected from the four I've posted??

Tiny Tuesday Week 28
Please don't forget to tag your image for tiny tuesday with the tags TinyTuesday28 and TT28.  Don't forget to start thinking up your blip for next weeks Tiny Tuesday which will have a Christmas Theme.  Can't wait to see what gets posted in the challenge today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.