TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Pretty In Pink

My bedroom window view brightened up considerably this past week with the blooming of my Christmas cactus. Now, I have had this particular cactus plant for several years but it still surprises and delights me to see it burst into bloom. 
Shortly after I took this photo, my husband came home from the store with a lovely lavender poinsettia which I promptly nestled into the small space between the cactus and geranium.
Needless to say, I will be enjoying and savoring this view throughout the Holidays and into the New Year...as long as it lasts and then some. :)

I look so happy. 
Giggles float up like champagne bubbles,
I can't contain my chuckles. 
You wonder why.

Tucked away in corner of the room,
Brown twisted stems, flattened leaves,
Spear delicate pink flowers.
Our Christmas Cactus is in bloom.

Spending all year long, in quiet repose,
Unassuming, never to attract even a stray glance,
Every year, it never fails to surprise,
With a shower of flowers.

Some trudge through life,
Unsung, nary a murmur or action,
Until they brighten our lives, 
In such spectacular fashion.



~ A.M. Haven, Christmas Cactus

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.