TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

My Frosty Fairyland

I woke up this morning to a simply wonderful surprise...my very own frosty winter fairyland. I was so excited peeking out the window at this rare and beautiful hoarfrost event that I threw on a few pieces of outerwear, grabbed my camera and out the door I nearly flew. 
In case you aren't familiar, hoarfrost is a deposit of needle-like ice crystals formed on the ground (and everything else) by direct condensation at temperatures below the freezing point. Technical definitions aside, I cannot remember ever having witnessed a frost event so magnificent. I snapped a number of luscious, frosty photos and I never even had to leave my own backyard. It was difficult for me to choose just one to share so I am including a couple of others in the "extra photos" section.

Lace against an azure sky,
Marshmallow frosting on each branch -
Winter's cotton-candy coating -
Softens twig, and leaf, and prickle;
Bearding line, and pole, and twiglet,
With delicately frozen grace

~ Elle Fredine

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.